San Juan Island Map

This San Juan Island map is interactive. If you zoom out from the map, you will see that there are hundreds of islands in what is known as the San Juan Archipelago. Only four of those islands receive public ferry service: Orcas, Lopez, Shaw, and San Juan Island, making up all of San Juan County.

San Juan Island itself is just over 14 miles long by 6 miles wide, with a total of 55 square miles. The countryside includes open fields and forest, hills and flatland, and everything from sandy beaches to rocky shorelines. There is a year-round population of around 7000 people and an average of only 25 inches of rain each year. (Check out the weather station at the bottom of this page to see what the San Juan weather is like right now.) Incidentally, two of the top 10 wettest cities in the United States are on the West Coast, but only one is in Washington State -- Quillayute, on the Olympic Peninsula. Maybe that fact will dispel the misconception that Washington is the rainiest state in the country!

View Larger Map

This San Juan map is interactive: use the arrow keys on the left to move around the map, and double click or use the + and - buttons to zoom in or out. anywhere on the map to get a closer look.

Check out the Orcas Island map, the Lopez Island map, and the Shaw Island map.

Return to Simply San Juan from San Juan Island Map.

Unless otherwise noted, photographs on this site are copyrighted by the owner and may be used only with permission.